Advent November 28: food calendar for the day – what orthodox people can and can not eat

The Advent fast lasts 40 days: from November 28 to January 6. The basis of the Lenten table for the Orthodox is the porridge: buckwheat, millet, oatmeal. But the main essence of abstaining from everything worldly is the purification of the soul. Fasting for the laity is much milder than for the monks. Food restrictions should be reasonable, especially for those who have recovered from coronavirus.

During the fast of the Nativity, according to the ecclesiastical monastery statute (Typical) one must abstain from animal products (meat, eggs, milk). The laity (non-monks) tend to fast more gently. For example, the dry diet is not practiced by the common people (or is practiced only on days of strict fasting – from January 2 to January 6), fish is excluded from the diet only on Wednesdays and Fridays (and from January 2 to January 6). ).

Lent calendar according to the monastic statute (Typikon), published by the magazine “Thomas”:

November 28, Sunday. Apostle and Evangelist Matthew: Fish is allowed. November 29, Monday: Hot food without oil. Tuesday, November 30: Fish are allowed. December 1st, Wednesday. St. Filaretos, Metropolitan of Moscow: Xerophagia. December 2Thursday: Fish are allowed. December 3Friday: Dry eating. December 4, Saturday. Entrance to the Holy Temple of the Most Holy Theotokos and Panagia: Fish are allowed. December 5Sunday: Fish are allowed. December 6Monday: Dry eating.

December 7, Tuesday. Vmchts. Katerina: Fish are allowed. December 8, Wednesday. Feast of the Entrances to the Holy Temple of the Most Holy Theotokos: Xirofagia. December 9Thursday: Fish are allowed. December 10, Friday. Image of the Mother of God, called “The Sign”: Dry eating. December 11, Saturday. Shmch. Seraphim (Tsitsagova): Fish are allowed. December 12Sunday: Fish are allowed. December 13, Monday. Apostle Andreas the First Called: Hot food without oil. December 14Tuesday: Fish are allowed. December 15Wednesday: Dry eating. December 16, Thursday. Engine turn. Savva Storozhevsky (Zvenigorodsky): Fish are allowed. December 17, Friday. Vmts. Barbarians: Dry eating. December 18, Saturday. Engine turn. Savva the Sanctified: Fish is allowed. December 19, Sunday. Saint Nicholas the Miracle Worker: Fish are allowed. December 20Monday: Hot food without oil. December 21Tuesday: Food with vegetable oil. December 22, Wednesday. Arrest of the Most Holy Theotokos by Timia Anna. Icon of the Mother of God, called “Unexpected Joy”: Dry eating. December 23, Thursday. St. Joasaph, ep. Belgorod: Food with vegetable oil. December 24Friday: Dry eating. December 25, Saturday. St. Spyridon, Ep. Trimifundski, miracle worker: Fish are allowed.

Photo Christmas post from November 28: food calendar for the day - what orthodox can and can not eat 3

December 26Sunday: Fish are allowed. December 27Monday: Hot food without oil. December 28, Tuesday. Shmch. Hilarion, Archbishop Vereisky: Food with vegetable oil. December 29Wednesday: Dry eating. December 30Thursday: Food with vegetable oil. December 31stFriday: Dry eating. January 1st, Saturday. Mch. Boniface, protector of sobriety: Fish are allowed. January 2, Sunday. Correctly. John of Kronstadt, miracle worker: Food with vegetable oil. January 3, Monday. Hot food without oil. January 4, Tuesday. Vmts. Anastasia the Redeemer: Hot food without oil. January 5, Wednesday. Hot food without oil. January 6, Thursday. Christmas Eve (Christmas Eve): Strict fasting.

For people who have had infectious diseases, and especially COVID-19, doctors do not recommend limiting themselves to a protein diet, and that is meat, eggs, cottage cheese. Animal proteins are the material for producing antibodies that fight viruses.

Photo Advent from November 28: food calendar for the day - what orthodox can and can not eat 4

The purpose of fasting is the spiritual purification of man and the preparation for the feast of the Nativity of Christ. An orthodox priest believes that sincere prayer in fasting means more than restrictions on food.

“If one cannot refuse some products, then the quality of fasting will not suffer if one does not abstain from it.”

– explained the priest, high priest Andrei Efanov.

Remember if it is possible to drink champagne on New Year’s Eve for those who observe the Advent quickly – read on Sib.fm.

Leave a Comment